A Diamond’s Eye View of the World

a multi-faceted look at the middle east, and the middle west

water where you least expect it

Posted by adiamondinsunlight on August 11, 2009

For the past two weeks, I’ve been doing a fine job of ignoring my half-written Doha posts. But this past weekend, a chance encounter with a stray water bottle reminded me that I have much to do before this blog goes back on hiatus.

This past Saturday I found myself visiting my friend J, and looking at the eclectic liquor collection on J’s kitchen counter. Banana rum, flavored vodka, something pink and fruity – something for everyone in need of a party drink, it seemed.

And then I saw something for me: a tall skinny water bottle, with a design and color scheme that reminded me of some familiar water towers:

IMG_1281

You have a bottle of water from Kuwait! I said to J in excitement.

What? J asked, clearly not paying particular attention either to me or the counter-top liquids.

When were you in Kuwait? I asked, still excited.

I’ve never been to Kuwait, J said, surprised. Why are you asking?

I held up the bottle, with something of the same gravity that the Statue of Liberty holds her lamp.

This bottle is from Kuwait, I said, much as if I were saying, This is the Holy Grail. Sometimes I get a bit over-enthused.

I’ve never been to Kuwait, J insisted, frowning. I think the bottle is from my trip to Turkey.

Sometimes I have the patience to explain that in Turkey people speak Turkish, which is written in Roman script, and in the Arab world people speak Arabic, which is written in the Arabic script. Sometimes I don’t. So I just smiled and said: I’ve always wanted to go to Turkey.

I’ve always wanted to go to Turkey, which (according to J) imports its water from Kuwait🙂.

One Response to “water where you least expect it”

  1. Habib said

    You’re really funny!

Leave a Reply

 
