A Diamond’s Eye View of the World

a multi-faceted look at the middle east, and the middle west

dirty laundry

Posted by adiamondinsunlight on March 30, 2009

You may have noticed that I neglected to post anything yesterday. The truth is: I was hiding.

I took the first part of Edcomm’s Anti-Money-Laundering course after blogging about it on Saturday, planning to post the certificate once I had earned it.

But I didn’t earn it. I failed: I couldn’t get my quiz scores to reach the 80% needed to pass (and get that darn certificate).

I feel lame, and humbled – but I also feel a lot better about the AML program.  I still think that its use in Syria will be restricted to those who are corrupt and anger the regime, rather than for those who are corrupt but docile. But I’m glad at least that the bankers and other finance professionals working on corruption cases will in fact be professionals, with some level of meaningful training.

As for me, I guess this fully rules out any hope of a second-stage career in finance :).

Leave a Reply

 
