A Diamond’s Eye View of the World

a multi-faceted look at the middle east, and the middle west

… but words are good, too

Posted by adiamondinsunlight on March 25, 2009

This morning when I woke I found an email from Qifa Nabki waiting for me in my inbox.

Hi D., QN wrote.

I’ve got a post on those funny flag posters, and the hilarious response by some enterprising Aounist graphic designer. Thought you’d be interested.

Interested? The response to my post on the original billboard had left me more mystified than before – of course I was interested! I couldn’t wait to see them, and his take on both sets of images. The Aouni response is provocative and thoughtful – especially the last one. You can see them – and read QN’s delightful commentary – here.

By the way, QN also asked, did you ever figure out anything more from the commenter who explained the campaign?

No – I didn’t. In fact, I’ve been feeling guilty about this: the person who wrote in had a Leo Burnett address, and in my response to him/her I mentioned that I was familiar with the quality of “your work” – meaning the agency’s. The poor commentator took it personally, assuming that I knew him/her, and asked me to be in touch offline rather than via the blog.

In any case, I’m still wondering about the original billboard. I do find it typical of Leo Burnett’s work in the region: visually striking and conceptually sophisticated, but totally bereft of key elements like contact info and an explanatory tag line. Does every Leo Burnett ad produced in Lebanon need to be a mystery ad?

I have other questions as well – about the deeper logic of the ad. For example: Why highlight only the Arab contributors? Many countries – including my own – gave generous cash and in-kind contributions. What’s so special about the Arabs?

And why include Lebanon among the “donors”? Not to be too GOP about this, but shouldn’t a country be expected to help pay for its own recovery?

Finally: claiming to speak for “the Lebanese” without disclosing the paying client (whether a government agency, a NGO, or a private corporation) is, or should be, totally illegal in a paid advertisement.

Bah humbug. And yes, bring on the party politics!

2 Responses to “… but words are good, too”

  1. qussa said

    Keep your eyes on Menassat this evening… you’ll have a pleasant surprise! 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
