A Diamond’s Eye View of the World

a multi-faceted look at the middle east, and the middle west

ancien regime spam

Posted by adiamondinsunlight on March 16, 2009

This morning I received a fetching email from another new friend: Ali Ibrahim, who describes himself as working in Iraq with an “international organization” otherwise known as the “20th Armored Brigade in Basra”. Ali’s sense of ethics is strong but flexible: he is asking my help to “evacuate” the $18.523 million he received as his share of a group find at one of Saddam Hussein’s former palaces, which he describes as “no stolen money” although he also notes that “this was quite an illegal thing to do. No word on what he and his compadres did with the “piles of weapons and ammunitions”, although I bet that you and I could come up wtih a few likely scenarios :).

When it comes to friendships, I believe strongly in the concept of: “the more, the merrier”. So if you are looking for a new friend, allow me to share my friend Ali Ibrahim with you:

Dear Friend,

With a very desperate need for assistance, I have summed up courage to contact you. I am from(will disclose this later), presently working in Iraq with an international organization that I will also disclose later, I found your contact particulars in an address journal. I am seeking your assistance to evacuate the sum of (US$18.523 Million Dollars) Eighteen Million, five Hundred And Twenty Three Thousand US Dollars to your country or any other safe country of your choice, as far as I can be assured that my share will be safe in your care until I complete my service here, this is no stolen money,and there are no dangers involved.

Some money in various currencies was discovered concealed in barrels with piles of weapons and ammunitions at a location near one of Saddam’s old palaces during a rescue operation, and it was agreed by all party present that the money be shared amongst us, this was quite an illegal thing to do, but I tell you what? no compensation can make up for the risks we have taken with our lives in this hell hole. The above figure was given to me as my share, and to conceal this kind of money became a problem for me, so with the help of a German contact working here, and his office enjoys some immunity, I was able to get the package out to a safe cation entirely out of trouble spot. He does not know the real contents of the package,and believes that it belongs to an Asian/American who died in an air raid, and before giving up, trusted me to hand over the package to his business associate. I have now found a secured way of getting the package out to a safer country for you to pick up, and will discuss this with you.

Your full name:
Your country:
Contact phone number:
Age:
Occupation:

I await your urgent reply
Regards,

Ali Ibrahim

20 Armoured Brigade in Basra

5 Responses to “ancien regime spam”

  1. intlxpatr said

    To me, it is utterly amazing how very trusting they are. They don’t know us from Adam! Why we could just take all their hard-stolen money (in that hell hole) and run! How desperate they must be. Why . . . we must help! I love it that you shared his plight with all of us, so we can all help, too!

  2. sparkleplenty said

    Little Diamond & Intlxpatr – here’s one I received the other day, have you seen any similar? I get the routine ones, well, routinely, and think they’re pretty funny but this was the first I’d seen that posed as from a soldier, and it bothered me. (I x’d out the respond email address) ~~~~~~~~~~~

    From: Infantry Division [mailto:xxxxx@yahoo.cn]
    Subject: Can i trust you?

    Hello pal,

    I do hope my email meet’s you in good health, I’m Nerys Williams a U.S. helicopter maintenance supervisor in the 3rd Infantry Division, in Iraq. I am writing to solicit your allegiance as the custodian to an asset value of 10 Million dollars that we are transferring out of the country.

    My partners and I are in need of someone we can trust to actualize this venture. The money is from oil proceeds and is legal.

    We are moving it through a diplomatic pouch to your house directly or a safe and secured location of your choice through a diplomatic pouch. Can we trust you? Once you receive the funds, you take an awesome reward of 30% then keep our 70%. Your role is to find a safe place where the funds will be deliver. We seek your utmost rationality and confidenciality in this.

    If you are interested reply to xxxxx@yahoo.cn then I will furnish you with more details.

    Yours buddy
    Sgt Nerys Williams
    God Bless America!!

  3. snarla said

    “In an address journal”? Like, in some dead guy’s pocket litter?

  4. Khalti, lol – you are right: we should help! Sparkle, what a gem. A diplomatic pouch? Since when did “helicopter maintenance supervisors” have access to this? And why is she using a Chinese Yahoo address?

    Snarla – ugh. I hadn’t thought of that, although I did think: “who keeps an address book these days?”

  5. intlxpatr said

    LOL, yes I have seen that one, and it is full of holes. I was wondering myself . . . where are my address cards? When is the last time I even looked at them? The world is changing and we barely see it happening

Leave a Reply

 
