A Diamond’s Eye View of the World

a multi-faceted look at the middle east, and the middle west

election campaigning

Posted by adiamondinsunlight on March 11, 2009

Something new and unexpected has joined the Lebanese MP3 player and Mother’s Day ads reaching my inbox this week: election campaign ads.

I think its a bit early for these ads, myself – but I am very happy to see any sort of election campaigning. I know, I know: American campaign excess is not a model for anyone to follow. But the idea of candidates actually trying to win voters … actually going door-to-door … actually developing concrete platforms for action … all this would be very exciting.

Here are the two ads I have seen. The first is for a Greek Orthodox candidate running in Beirut I, Nasrallah Bou Fadel:

att00090

The second is for the Facebook group of Eddy Abillama, a Maronite candidate running in the Metn:

att00690

I don’t understand why I received ads for both candidates, since they are ‘running’ in different districts – neither of which I lived in. But I do hope that this is a sign of a broad shift toward actual campaigning (and not simply, say, simply another iteration of the country’s poster fetish).

In any case, if you are interested in running a campaign, Doculand is here to help:

att00379

If you aren’t interested in running a campaign but are interested in tracking various elections-related developments, you might visit Deen Sharp’s blog: www.lebelections.blogspot.com.

Leave a Reply

 
