A Diamond’s Eye View of the World

a multi-faceted look at the middle east, and the middle west

Getting ready-er

Posted by adiamondinsunlight on March 4, 2009

Last week I posted two PSAs created by the Elections Commission (still don’t know what its proper name is), which Blacksmiths of Lebanon very kindly picked up. Another one, with a different design scheme (was the red necessary?) appeared on Monday:

02_03_2009_002_008

This one asks would-be voters to make sure that their names are correctly entered in the voter registries, “so we see you at the elections”, and suggests that they do so by visiting the mukhtar of their local baladiya or by visiting the website of the “General Directorate of Personal Status”, which despite sounding like Facebook’s status vetting board is apparently Lebanon’s equivalent of an elections commission.

As I’ve said before: I love elections. I love the power of the vote. If you are a Lebanese citizen, I hope you vote this June; the low turnout in 2005 broke my heart. If you – like others I know – haven’t voted before, start the registration process now: the deadline is March 10. And if your mukhtar doesn’t want to register you because he (or she, theoretically) thinks you might vote a certain way, raise a fuss. The right to vote is an incredibly precious treasure – don’t let it slip away.

5 Responses to “Getting ready-er”

  1. Qifa Nabki said

    Has anyone else experienced trouble using the election website to verify registration?

    I’ve tried to make sure I’m registered, with no luck. The site returns a “no records found” report even when I try to search by qada/qariya.

    I should be registered, because I have my voting card from the last election… but things are clicking the way they should be.

  2. Qifa Nabki said

    Ok, never mind. It looks like I’m just not registered. Will have to remedy that…

  3. I’ll forward it as well.

  4. Great job finding these ADS (good acronym?) and thanks for the link back 🙂

  5. […] Getting ready-er […]

Leave a Reply

 
