A Diamond’s Eye View of the World

a multi-faceted look at the middle east, and the middle west

helping out the bin Talals

Posted by adiamondinsunlight on February 26, 2009

This morning I received a lovely email from my new friend: Princess Amira, the wife of Saudi prince and uber-billionaire, Alwaleed bin Talal. As some of you may recall, Amira was recently in the news for her comments about her readiness to drive in Saudi Arabia whenever the laws are changed. Sadly, it seems that she now has more pressing issues on her mind:

Sir,

Assalamaleku and Good day.

My husband’s agent came across your e mail contact where he was seeking for
an investor/business partner for me.

I am interested to invest and partner in your business, with assurance that the security of my capital will be there, please kindly get back to me with full details via email. I have $120 million of my sick husbands money that I want to invest in your country through you or your company.

May Allah bless you.

NOTE: THESE ARE MY DIRECT EMAIL:
Direct email: hayalwa@yahoo.co.uk
2nd Email: hayalwa@gmail.com
Mrs H.Alwaleed, (Wife of HRH Prince Alwaleed Bin Talal)
Founder/ Chairman of KHC
Kingdom Holding Company
www.kingdom.net

Evidently “Mrs. H. Alwaleed” has been so affected by her distress at the Prince’s illness that she 1) called me Sir, my longstanding pet peeve 2) missed the meem on “Assalamalekum” and 3) signed a doozy of a pre-nup, if she only has access to $120 million of the bin Talal fortune.

The Kingdom Holding website is real; I highly doubt that the email addresses are. Oh well – it was a sweet friendship while it lasted!

5 Responses to “helping out the bin Talals”

  1. Kheireddine said

    Typical Nigerian scam. I received email from “a cousin” named Neil😉
    By the way, Al-Walid, is named after my father who was a close friend of his mother, Mona El-Solh, daughter of Riad El-Solh. Also my Sister is named after her🙂

  2. intlxpatr said

    LOL. You know there really ARE people who fall for these things?

  3. Oh Kheireddine, I feel for Neil! Every new story about your family makes me wish that I was your cousin, too – you have such an interesting extended family tree, and such a wealth of stories.

    Khalti, I do know that – and the ones like this, that mix fact with fiction, concern me more than the truly loopy ones. I do think that gmail and yahoo have a certain responsibility to police people who use their email platforms for scams, so one way to stop them (in my view) is to forward emails like these on to the host.

  4. […] Lebanese ad industry found me? I wondered this morning. Oh yes – I remember now. I read through my scam emails, which promised love and friendship – not to mention […]

  5. […] 17, 2009 This morning I received word from two friends: Prince Alwaleed bin Talal, the husband of my old friend Princess Amira, invited me to buy a new Mercedes, and Mrs. Muna Habib offered $3.5 million to me to use for […]

Leave a Reply

 
