A Diamond’s Eye View of the World

a multi-faceted look at the middle east, and the middle west

un-foreign

Posted by adiamondinsunlight on February 16, 2009

This morning A and I went for a walk around A’s neighborhood before I headed back home to New York. A pointed out the different aspects of the neighborhood, including some of the embassies and other notable buildings.

And the neighborhood over there, A said, gesturing, tends to attract more foreigners.

Foreigners? I thought, confused. I heard what A was saying, but it just wasn’t sinking in.

And then I realized why.

I still think of “foreigners” as meaning people like you and me, I said to A.

A, who returned to the U.S. a few months after I did, just smiled in that I’ve-known-you-a-long-time-and-still-wonder-what-planet-you-come-from way.

I don’t miss being defined as A Foreigner, or living with the hyper-visibility that accompanied it – but I do clearly need to work harder to get the label out of my head!

Leave a Reply

 
