A Diamond’s Eye View of the World

a multi-faceted look at the middle east, and the middle west

fun with medics

Posted by adiamondinsunlight on February 4, 2009

This morning I had an annual check-up with a new doctor. Well, in fact all my doctors are new – the result of a new insurance provider and a new neighborhood. I’ve chosen them a bit at random: my requirements are that they be within walking distance of office or home, have received their final degree no earlier than 1992, and have published in their field.

(I did think about adding “speak Arabic” to this list, since my insurance provider’s website can also sort doctors and dentists by languages spoken, but decided that this was just a bit too weird of me.)

As part of each first visit to the people who now keep me healthy, I have had to fill out various types of “medical history” forms. These forms ask fairly standard questions, but I have learned that my answers can cause rather non-standard responses.

Tell me what Beirut is like, a friendly dental hygienist asked this fall, while wedging a machine that looked frighteningly like a small electric sander into my mouth. (Apparently its better than a toothbrush – perhaps because the goo and plaque melts off one’s teeth out of fear.)

Ttttssssnnnnceeee, I said while trying to preserve my tongue.

Today, my medical history was evidently so remarkable that the doctor called me into her office for a pre-check-up chat.

I just wanted to say, she said, that you are the only patient I have ever seen who listed “Beirut, Lebanon” as the last place he or she had been for this procedure.

But in all other respects, we both agreed, my health is totally boring🙂.

One Response to “fun with medics”

  1. intlxpatr said

    When it comes to health, boring is good. What you don’t want, is to be “interesting” as in, “do you mind if I invite a few doctors to observe this procedure? We don’t see a lot of cases like this!” LOL

Leave a Reply

 
