A Diamond’s Eye View of the World

a multi-faceted look at the middle east, and the middle west

Gem from Gemmayze

Posted by adiamondinsunlight on January 25, 2009

This weekend I did all the new year cleaning that I ought to have done earlier in January (Or maybe I’m more of a Chinese New Year cleaner.) – including tidying up my computer files.

As I weeded through the photos I took during 2008, this lost gem caught my eye:

p1030052

I took this photo one sunny March afternoon, during Lebanon’s first 2008 Easter weekend, when I was giving my parents a walking tour of Gemmayze. (I called it a walking tour; but since I made them hoof it from downtown through Gemmayze and then up to the ABC mall, they refer to it as The Long March.)

80’s Arabic music? I don’t know ANYTHING about the Arabic hits of the 1980s. Someone, please: send me a few titles/artists! I’m imagining a Jordanian Bon Jovi and a Lebanese Boy George … can’t wait to hear about the real thing🙂.

5 Responses to “Gem from Gemmayze”

  1. Kheireddine said

    We had and still have Melhem Barakat, Ragheb Alameh, Majida El-Roumi, Mohammad Jamal Sami Clark etc

    Here is one from Mohammad Jamal that was very popular بدي شوفك كل يوم يا حبيبي
    http://ca.youtube.com/watch?v=Svcde2Cy-sA

  2. qussa said

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AAVn4-17Bjs🙂

    (And there is a compilation of 5 CDs with Lebanese/Arabic hits from the 70s/80s that is played to death in each and every bar in Hamra… unfortunately I have them as mp3s only, will ask someone about the name of the compilation album.)

  3. Kheireddine said

    There is plenty on Utube, check yohane27’s Channel

  4. Kheireddine said

    http://ca.youtube.com/user/yohane27

  5. Thanks for all the links – sorry it took me so long to post them. I don’t check my spam queue all that often, and I forget that posts with links often end up there.

Leave a Reply

 
