A Diamond’s Eye View of the World

a multi-faceted look at the middle east, and the middle west

threats of “Lebanon”

Posted by adiamondinsunlight on December 19, 2008

I am dying, absolutely dying, to see Waltz With Bashir – which opens here in the city on December 26. In the meantime, I received a Google news alert about a less reflective Israeli. This man apparently also spent time in as a soldier in Lebanon – and decided to use his experiences there to threaten his fellow Jet Blue passengers:

BURBANK — A JetBlue flight headed from New York to Burbank was forced to make an emergency landing in Salt Lake City late Monday night after an intoxicated passenger caused a major disturbance.

Shalom Yarimo was arrested Tuesday night and charged with felony interference with a flight crew.

Now, Yarimo says he had become ill after choking on his food, and was unnecessarily treated as a safety problem by the flight crew.

Officials tell a different story: “Some of his activities included running up and down the aisles, opening and closing the overhead bins, shouting at the flight attendants, making a statement that he had shot people in Lebanon.”

Upon landing in Salt Lake City, Yarimo’s 130 fellow passengers and the flight crew had to deplane and be re-screened before completing the trip to Burbank.

Yarimo was booked in the Salt Lake County jail. He has a court appearance scheduled for Wednesday.

Ugh. What a lame excuse: I was choking, so I began to threaten people by mentioning my murderous activities as an occupying soldier. I hope the judge gave him an appropriately harsh sentence.

3 Responses to “threats of “Lebanon””

  1. Where do you find these!!
    “Some of his activities included running up and down the aisles, opening and closing the overhead bins, shouting at the flight attendants, making a statement that he had shot people in Lebanon.”

    I had to laugh, even though it sounded morbid.

    I saw Waltz with Bashir at a special Animation week movie festival (outside Lebanon). Lovely movie, great sound track too.

  2. For once, it is not an Arab😉

  3. Jester, the credit is due to Google, not me. And I know: he sounds like a total nut. “Opening and closing the overhead bins” – it sounds laughable, but I bet it was very nerve-wracking for the other passengers.

    Lucky you to have seen Waltz With Bashir already – I can’t wait!

    Kheireddine – I agree! But I was also thinking: how many Americans remember that Israel invaded Lebanon? I bet that when he mentioned Lebanon, many passengers didn’t think “Israeli”. I bet they thought “Arab”. (Or, equally likely, just thought: “Huh?”)

Leave a Reply

 
