A Diamond’s Eye View of the World

a multi-faceted look at the middle east, and the middle west

Levantine treasures, part two

Posted by adiamondinsunlight on October 31, 2008

In August I wrote about a brass tray that I had picked up from our neighborhood junk shop – an act that pleased the owner even more than it pleased me – which equals a great deal of pleasure, since the tray in question was $20.

But it was also pretty tarnished, and (although I didn’t know this at the time), H thought that $20 was more than it was worth. Little did he know that thanks to the khala and Grandma Gigi, I have plenty of experience in polishing metal🙂 .

I purchased a container of brass polish shortly after acquiring the tray, but never got around to polishing it.

Last Sunday, I decided that it was finally time to put some elbow grease into my bargain treasure. So I got out a few clean rags, a pair of rubber gloves, and some don’t-mind-if-they-get-stained clothing, laid the tray down on our living room floor, and got to work.

H, who was working at the the table on the other side of the room, turned from what he was doing to watch me.

I love seeing you working away like this, he said fondly. I smiled.

I think I’ll leave you now, he said a minute later, as the overwhelming chemical odor of brass polish meeting tarnish wafted its way across the room. Frowning as he quickly gathered up his things and made his escape to the far end of the apartment, he asked: what exactly is in that stuff?

I have no idea. But I do know that it works. Here is my beautiful brass tray, post-polishing:

It needs one final polish to really shine – but doesn’t it look bright and shiny already? Its cold here in New York – perfect time for a reminder of the bright golden sunshine of the Levant🙂.

3 Responses to “Levantine treasures, part two”

  1. intlxpatr said

    It is GORGEOUS, Little Diamond. You bought a treasure. Mabrook! For the final polish, do what the Palestianians taught me, use lemon juice (use a real lemon, just rub it right on) and salt. You will be astonished.

    Some people have them coated once they are polished, and never have to polish again. Are there places in NYC that do that? Are there places in NYC that re-tin copper pots for cooking?

  2. […] Posted by adiamondinsunlight on November 9, 2008 H is away this weekend, so I decided to put my solo time to good use and finish up a few loose ends – including the final polishing of my Middle Eastern junk shop treasure. […]

  3. […] mentioned my bargain brass table before, as well as my various efforts to restore it to shiny glory. I’ve polished it with […]

Leave a Reply

 
