A Diamond’s Eye View of the World

a multi-faceted look at the middle east, and the middle west

birds & butterflies: even more old Lebanese stamps

Posted by adiamondinsunlight on October 7, 2008

Here is the next set of stamps from Faylasoof’s first scan – and with it another chance to demonstrate my skittish math skills. Yesterday, I told you that I had divided the scan into quarters. Well, I actually divided it into sixths. You do not want me figuring out your portions of the dinner bill, estimating how many yards of fabric for curtains, or measuring how much space your car needs to fit into the garage without being whonked by the garage door🙂.

I don’t have as much to say about this set of stamps: they are mostly birds and butterflies, both of which I vaguely appreciate, but about which I have little to say. I can say that they are pretty, and that Lebanon is lucky to have such diversity, but that’s about it.

Here is section number three (of six!) of the first scan:

And here is section number four:

This one is a bit more interesting to me because of the Beit Meri stamp. (The Arabic script says: “Jeitaoui”.) All I know of Beit Meri is that it is a Christian suburb of Beirut with some truly ugly high-rise apartment buildings. Now, thanks to this stamp, I know that its history dates back to Roman times.

(If you would like to learn a bit more about Beit Mery’s Roman ruins, there is a short post on Google Earth’s community site written by the ardently named “Phoenician Pilot”. You can also try the city’s website, MOBMAS – for Municipality of Beit Meri – Ain Saadeh. And if you are looking for a Beit Mery a little closer to home, try this one – a Roman Catholic hermitage located in Yakima, Washington.)

Leave a Reply

 
