A Diamond’s Eye View of the World

a multi-faceted look at the middle east, and the middle west

the Beiteddine of Brooklyn

Posted by adiamondinsunlight on August 7, 2008

It may have been wishful thinking.

Or it may have been that I didn’t get enough sleep the night before.

Yesterday I looked up during my walk to the gym, rather than straight ahead or – ahem! – at the shop windows. And I saw something familiar – wooden mashrabiya-style additions to a stone (well, brick) building:

It looks so Lebanese, I thought to myself as I pulled out my camera. I can’t wait to get home and compare it to the photograph I took at Beiteddine.

When I did, I realized that the two approaches to wooden building extensions weren’t quite as similar as I had thought. Here’s the photograph of Beiteddine:

Well, it was 6:00 AM. As you can see, Beiteddine’s build-out is a bit more elaborate, not to mention bigger – kind of like Beiteddine itself compared to the brick building.

But I loved feeling, at least for a little while, that a direct connection between New York and Lebanon existed just a few blocks away.

One Response to “the Beiteddine of Brooklyn”

  1. Leila1000 said

    Too funny — I’m pretty sure this is a stone’s throw away from my place.
    There’s an Italianate mansion near Prospect Park, maybe around 3rd or 4th St, that clearly has some Moorish elements. I think it’s now a Brooklyn Parks department building.

    You probably know this already, but just in case: if you walk due north past this place (if it’s in fact the place on Court I’m thinking of), just before hitting Atlantic you’ll see, on your right, the small jewel that is Rashid’s music store. May it stay there many more decades…

    http://www.saudiaramcoworld.com/issue/200404/brooklyn.s.musical.oasis.htm

Leave a Reply

 
