A Diamond’s Eye View of the World

a multi-faceted look at the middle east, and the middle west

Palestine in vogue

Posted by adiamondinsunlight on July 24, 2008

In addition to books like Sami and the Time of the Troubles, which I mentioned yesterday, the magic boxes that my parents sent earlier this week also contained six months’ worth of magazines.

I love magazines. Well, not all magazines – I can do without the celebrity-chasing ones. But food magazines, travel magazines, and fashion magazines are all guilty pleasures – as in, I feel a bit guilty reading them rather than more substantive fare, but the pleasures are totally worth it.

The April 2008 Vogue included a feature on local beauty products from around the world, including a mention of olive oil from Palestine:

Woo-hoo Vogue! Its been my favorite fashion magazine since I was 13 and stumbled across old copies in my aunt Sparkle’s living room. I love the elegance of the clothing it showcases and the quality of the writing in its articles.

And I love its “fashion forward” matter-of-fact recognition of Palestine, too.

3 Responses to “Palestine in vogue”

  1. A tip of the hat to Vogue!

    ATW

  2. intlxpatr said

    Ummm. . . . how about the articles on liposuction of the knees and underarms? I bought that issue, loved the mention of Palestianian olive oil.

  3. Thanks, ATW!

    Khalti, I thought the underarm article was a hoot. As for the knee-lift article – it was too much for me. I got through two paragraphs and just thought: “this is too weird”.

Leave a Reply

 
