A Diamond’s Eye View of the World

a multi-faceted look at the middle east, and the middle west

hidden gems of Beirut

Posted by adiamondinsunlight on June 18, 2008

Once again, I’m posting photos in hopes that Kheireddine can help🙂.

This building is next to the Khalidy house, which I’ve posted about before. Every time I pass the Khalidy house, I only grow more curious about its neighbor, because I can’t see it!

Here’s what I see as I approach the Khalidy house:

Beautiful, lush landscaping spilling out from both properties. Doesn’t it want to make you see more🙂 ?

Here’s what I see as I get closer:

Its even lusher – and so three-dimensional, with flowers and greenery spilling over the fence.

But this is all I can see when I peer through the greenery:

Its not much of a view, is it? If I shift around a bit, I can see a little more:

Its terribly tantalizing, especially with the wooden slat “extension to the original fence. Kheireddine (or anyone else!), do you know the story of this house and its owners – and its wonderful gardener?

4 Responses to “hidden gems of Beirut”

  1. Sorry Diamond, I don’t know who are the owners. I wished I had the money to buy all the old houses & buildings in Beirut to preserve them from demolition…

  2. Best advice is to just walk up and ask the owner. Most likely, s/he will be delighted to talk about her/his house and the garden. Life can be so simple:-) Granted, I am a foreigner and the Lebanese tend to be (much) nicer to me than they would be to their fellow Lebanese. Still, it’s worth a try.

  3. Kheireddine, its okay – I just thought I would ask, since you do know so much! I too wish that I could save the old houses – to me they are such a rich part of Beirut.

    Riemer, you are so right! I wish I were less shy – I would love to feel confident enough to do that. Maybe I’ll get H to ask on our next trip back🙂

  4. mira said

    hi,
    this is the Khalidi bldg owned by Nadim Khalidi. Unfortunately, they sold it lately to a big entrepreneur who will most probably tear it down and replace it with a big cement bldg. I was very saddened by this news and hoped we could do something to stop it. I live in the bldg right next to it.

Leave a Reply

 
