A Diamond’s Eye View of the World

a multi-faceted look at the middle east, and the middle west

al-mustaqbal

Posted by adiamondinsunlight on May 9, 2008

I woke a bit later than usual this morning – my alarm went off at 5:45, and I turned it off. There’s no work today.

But twenty minutes later I got out of bed – too restless to sleep. The news doesn’t come on here until 7:00, and I spent the first ten minutes wrestling with the three remote controls that accompany H’s TV. I only see two destinations (one, the TV; and two, the satellite box) so I’m not sure what the third is for. And I’m hoping that its for nothing, because I remember living in a Damascus apartment years ago, in which the third remote control changed the position of the rooftop satellite. And I also remember being told not to touch it, because rotating the satellite dish too far would cause it to fall off the roof.

Well, I didn’t hear any crashing paraboles this morning, so I think I’m safe.

I flipped between LBC and Future Television – Al Jadid doesn’t come on until 7:30, and I couldn’t find Al Manar or Al Jazeera. Actually, I think I may have abandoned the satellite entirely and somehow switched to terrestrial channels, but I don’t know what I did to get there and I don’t know how to get back.

Around 7:40, I was watching Future, when in classic “off air” fashion, the picture contracted into the center of the screen, and the screen went blue.

I had read that Future’s newspaper building was under attack this morning, and had wondered why anyone would attack the newspaper when the television station was nearby. Apparently the local armed men were wondering the same thing.

Around 8:02, Future put a screen image on its channels – terrestrial, satellite, and News (in the intervening twenty minutes I sorted out a few of my television issues). The image is an advertisement for “Dhakirat al-Makan”, one of its regular programs, but the time is frozen at 7:56 AM:

When Israel bombed Al Manar during the 2006 war, it showed a similar screen until its technicians could get the station up and running again. I hate this feeling of repetition, and I hate the little cloud of doom that seems to be lodging itself in my heart this morning.

On the other hand Tayyar is now reporting that the army has entered al-Mustaqbal’s television and newspaper buildings (الجيش يدخل منبيي تلفزيون وجريدة المستقبل 8:23), so perhaps the channel will soon be back on air. Poor army – shouldn’t it be fighting for national institutions?

Scene from our drive out of the city yesterday:

One Response to “al-mustaqbal”

  1. intlxpatr said

    Wouldn’t it be a good time to take off – like to a family wedding or something?

Leave a Reply

 
