A Diamond’s Eye View of the World

a multi-faceted look at the middle east, and the middle west

washing dishes in the dark

Posted by adiamondinsunlight on April 13, 2008

Its nearly 8:30 pm, and I have just come from a stint of dish washing – in the dark.

The dish washing was to kill time while I waited for the water in my teakettle to boil, and the dark was … oh, to deal with my cranky fusebox.

Most days I can run one air conditioning/heater, the refrigerator, a few lights and make tea. But some days – for no apparent reason – I can’t.

As I learned this afternoon, today is one of those days.

On the other hand, today the power stayed on ALL DAY. Woo hoo woo hoo!

2 Responses to “washing dishes in the dark”

  1. intlxpatr said

    We learn to be thankful for small things. I think of October in Kuwait, when it gets below 100°F for the first time, and we feel a real celebration for the cool spell!

  2. Oooh yes – I’m thankful for the beautiful breeze blowing through my office window. Earlier this week it was much stickier – a definite taste of summer humidity!

Leave a Reply

 
