A Diamond’s Eye View of the World

a multi-faceted look at the middle east, and the middle west

bowled over

Posted by adiamondinsunlight on April 12, 2008

Hang on, H said yesterday evening as we drove towards his parents’ house. I’m turning around. There’s something you have to see – its exactly the kind of thing you would blog about.

That “something” turned out to be a toilet and matching bidet, each designed partly in the shape of a soccer ball (football to the world beyond the USA):

I’m not sure how excited I am to be thought of as someone who leaps at the chance to blog about bathroom fixtures, but H was right: this is exactly the kind of thing I blog about. Who could resist taking a photograph of designer bathroom fixtures being sold in a roadside boutique in the da3yati part of the north Metn🙂 ?

Futbowl toilets are not my style (I’m about as un-team-sportsy as one can get), but I can imagine that these fixtures would thrill the heart of any child (I’m hoping) who loves Real Madrid or Manchester United. And since soccer has such a big following here, I bet these fixtures sell pretty well, at least for the definitely-not-living-on-$4-a-day set who can afford them!

2 Responses to “bowled over”

  1. intlxpatr said

    In yesterday’s Kuwait Times there was some exhibit, in Lebanon, of hundreds of toilets, and I can’t remember why. . . something about Lebanon going down the . . .?

  2. 🙂 you’re right, khalti – I should have mentioned it. Lebanon may very well be going down the proverbial toilet, but the exhibit is a Civil War commemmoration.

    I’ve always heard that people hid in stairwells during bomb raids, but apparently that was a euphemism for hiding in bathrooms – or toilets, as a lot of people call them here. If I had been more witty, I would have found a way to bring the exhibit into my post!

Leave a Reply

 
