A Diamond’s Eye View of the World

a multi-faceted look at the middle east, and the middle west

weekend in Kuwait, part three: shoe snobs

Posted by adiamondinsunlight on April 8, 2008

Welcome to Kuwait, said the immigration official when I handed him my passport for an entry visa. Are you here with KBR?

Um, no. In fact – definitely not. But the line of visa-seekers in front of me did have a number of contractor-type middle-aged men, so I can see I suppose how he might have lumped me in with them. The absence of “desert boots” from my Manhattan-black outfit might have been one indication, but of course not everyone is as besotted with footwear as I am.

But clearly there are some people in Kuwait who do appreciate a good shoe, and are not afraid to celebrate their snobbery:

My kind of store – I’m city, and I’m definitely snooty!

2 Responses to “weekend in Kuwait, part three: shoe snobs”

  1. snarla said

    City Snooty! I love it.

  2. Hi Snarla! Isn’t it a hoot of a sign/shop name? I love it, too!

Leave a Reply

 
