A Diamond’s Eye View of the World

a multi-faceted look at the middle east, and the middle west

Movie Night

Posted by adiamondinsunlight on March 11, 2008

I’ve been looking forward to seeing Persepolis, the film version of Marjane Satrapi’s graphic-novel version of her childhood in post-Revolution Iran. Her books are witty and warm, and the childhood Marjane’s confusion at the changes taking place around her (politically, socially, economically) put a very human face on1980s Iran.

persepolis.jpg

I’ve been looking forward to seeing Persepolis, but apparently I won’t be seeing it here: Lebanon has banned the film.

Press TV says that the film has been banned because it presents a “distorted image” of post-Revolution Iran. I think that this is a bunch of rubbish – the Lebanese government more likely banned it for fear that it might increase the political tension.

Either way, I’m missing out on a movie that I very much wanted to see.

But interestingly enough, H has been mentioning that lunch in Tripoli sounds like a wonderful spring adventure. I’ve never been to Tripoli, but I hear that its merchants offer a particularly wide variety of DVDs. I bet I can find Persepolis there.

And if not, I can always watch the Shah’s Iran: Dubai TV has been airing Soraya, the 2003 Italian mini-series based on the life of Mohammed Reza Shah’s second wife. Furs, ballgowns and limousines: no distorted images there :).

Leave a Reply

 
