A Diamond’s Eye View of the World

a multi-faceted look at the middle east, and the middle west

Soothing the savage breast

Posted by adiamondinsunlight on February 10, 2008

After working myself up into what a favorite old professor used to describe as “a state” (perhaps an apt concept for Lebanon these days …) with my last post, I decided that – in the spirit of full disclosure – I needed to share what made me laugh about these billboards as well.

First, some background.

I am a PC person. Those shiny bright Macs, with their hipper-than-thou gleam, have always intimidated me.

But in a moment of weakness in December, I allowed Big Diamond to persuade me to replace my “I only work when I feel like it, which isn’t often” diva of a VAIO with a Mac.

I’ve been feeling out of my element ever since.

So this afternoon, when I decided to view the photographs I had taken of the February 14 billboards as a slide show, I had no idea what would happen.

Apparently the default slideshow setting is “Ken Burns style”. So my billboard photographs appeared and … moved around the screen, zooming in and out, as if I had created a sophisticated photo documentary.

This was pretty cool, I must admit.

But when the music kicked in, I was non-plussed.

Apparently the slideshow triggers iTunes, which begins playing the first song in its library.

As it turns out, the first song in my iTunes library is “Ave Maria”.

So there I was: looking at photographs of a billboard commemorating Rafik Hariri’s murder and listening to an operatic version of “Hail, Mary”. Well, I suppose that “Pray for us sinners” could be a fairly non-denominational request.

And then the slideshow continued. I had forgotten what other images I uploaded with the billboard photos – images that were a bit light on gravitas. As my unknown opera singer praised the Virgin, I saw:

img_0260.jpg

Yes. I did take photographs of the free-with-purchase aromatherapy fabric softener (?) that accompanied my detergent purchase yesterday.

The clothing from my first aromatherapy wash are still drying. I’ll let you know how stimulating Vermel is once they are fit to wear. If my blog posts begin to appear a bit blissed out, and I stop complaining about 1) power cuts 2) politics 3) anything else, I guess we’ll know that the aromatherapy is working🙂 .

One Response to “Soothing the savage breast”

  1. intlxpatr said

    Dying laughing, Little Diamond! Have you tried your camera yet? The one in your computer? It is up there just above the screen, between the two slots, that square thing. It makes everyone, EVERYONE, EVEN YOU look old and ugly, and you can make it worse – it gives you many many options.

    You can CHOOSE what music you want in your slide show. You can put selected photos into ALBUMS in iPhoto, and make a slide show using appropriate music – you get to choose from iTunes, and it will play.

    Oh you are going to have so much fun. Welcome, welcome to the wonderful world of Mac!

Leave a Reply

 
