A Diamond’s Eye View of the World

a multi-faceted look at the middle east, and the middle west

Lebanon, from far away

Posted by adiamondinsunlight on November 20, 2007

Snow started falling early this morning in the city where I currently find myself, falling steadily as the night sky turned to grey morning. I love the snow – today is my birthday, and an early winter snowfall is a beautiful gift for a Mediterranean transplant like myself.

But I am watching the news updates online and my heart sinks with every new line. (I’m grateful as always to Tayyar for its frequent updates, even if I could live without the adulatory Aoun updates – Tayyar covers the minutiae of his days like LBC used to cover Ambassador Feltman’s.) I see the “election” has been postponed until Friday, and I “see” from the long list of meetings held and statements issued that things are not going well in Beirut.

I hope this is a hiccup – I hope that this is the moment of darkest night that comes just before dawn.

stressed-blog.jpg

2 Responses to “Lebanon, from far away”

  1. Maria said

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!
    Much love,
    M

  2. sporty diamond said

    Happy (belated) birthday to you on your blog – just catching up on your postings 🙂 Love you and so lucky to have you as my sister!!!

Leave a Reply

 
