A Diamond’s Eye View of the World

a multi-faceted look at the middle east, and the middle west

where everybody knows you (if you’re foreign:))

Posted by adiamondinsunlight on October 24, 2007

On my way to work this morning I stopped at the drycleaners to retrieve a skirt and favorite pair of trousers I had dropped there early last week.
img_0029.jpg

This isn’t my usual drycleaners – I usually take my clothing to a place much nearer to home.

But I had been carting these two pieces around for ten days, back and forth, intending to drop them on my way home from work … and finally I thought: I’ll just take them somewhere near work and actually get them clean.

Of course, in the meantime I had lost the receipt. Did I worry? No. I simply walked into the shop this morning, said hello to the woman behind the counter and waited while she retrieved my clothing.

No hesitation, no wondering who I was or what clothing I had brought in. She recognized me – a first-time customer – immediately, and knew exactly what clothing was mine.

Sometimes there are advantages to looking foreign :).

2 Responses to “where everybody knows you (if you’re foreign:))”

  1. intlxpatr said

    You have ROUND doorknobs??

    When I have people in, and shut the Qatteri Cat in the bedroom, I now have to lock the door with a key; he has learned how to jump up high enough to come down with his back feet on the handle to open the door.

  2. Haha this is my office door, actually, and of course now that I’m trying to think of it, I have absolutely no idea what my home doorknobs are. They must have handles, and a keyhole, but I don’t have keys for them.

    He’s a smart cat – takes after the rest of the family 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
