A Diamond’s Eye View of the World

a multi-faceted look at the middle east, and the middle west

summer falls away: the change of seasons in Beirut ii

Posted by adiamondinsunlight on October 19, 2007

Its cool in the evenings now, although yesterday at lunch both Charles Malik and I were commenting on the sultry afternoon heat. I’ve been told that daylight savings time ends this weekend, although I need to double-check before resetting my clocks – as in the US, falling back and springing forward are moving targets, date-wise.

During the past few days I’ve been hit with an intense longing for autumn signs: the crisp apples, the bright leaves, the pumpkin carving. The last would make more sense if I were a more gifted carver – my pumpkins have been almost eerily similar over the years. Triangle eyes, triangle nose, smile with two teeth on top and one on bottom – its the most I can manage with my “oops!” knife skills.

And I keep dreaming of a costume party – again, not due to any brilliant displays of creativity on my part. I’ve been a cat for nearly a decade, minus one inspired turn as “Twinkle, Twinkle Little Star”. But so much of life here is pageant anyway … why not celebrate it :)?

Yesterday morning I saw a little cargo ship sailing towards the port. Most of the ones I see in the mornings are much larger, and being pulled by a team of hard-working tugs. This one was smaller, and on its own – like me🙂.

boat.jpg

Leave a Reply

 
