A Diamond’s Eye View of the World

a multi-faceted look at the middle east, and the middle west

anonymity and self-improvement: mobile info messages

Posted by adiamondinsunlight on October 8, 2007

One of my small pleasures here is the number of quirky “info” messages I receive. I can’t always tell why I get them – they don’t go out as a blanket distribution to all subscribers, and they don’t always match what I think are logical demographic divisions (female, foreign, pre-paid, etc.). Sometimes they seem to be geographically defined: while at work in my previous position, I used to receive advertisements for nearby stores and restaurants.

However they come, I enjoy them. This one came two days ago:

Send SMS to ur friend without showing him ur NUMBER! Just send his NUMBEr followed by ur MESSAGE by SMS to 1430> e.g.: 03xxxxxx Hi

I’m not sure how I feel about the promise of anonymous sms’ing – especially when I imagine how it could be used. If I get a sweet sms from someone, I want to know who. And if I get a creepy sms from someone, I definitely want to know who.

And this one came as I was on my way to pick up food from “my” lunch spot (which today had delicious pumpkin kibbeh – a rare treat!):

“ANACONDA” Laser & Plastic Surgery wishes U a Happy Fotor [Eid al-Fitr] & Offers up to 50% DISCOUNT until the end of Oct.

The sms included Anaconda’s location and number for anyone interested in taking advantage of the special, which I (although I do love a bargain) am not.

It did make me laugh, though. Eid al-Fitr is traditionally celebrated by wearing new clothes (among other things) – and a tummy tuck or round of liposuction would certainly make new clothes an occasion for celebration!

One Response to “anonymity and self-improvement: mobile info messages”

  1. intlxpatr said

    Pumpkin kibbe sounds YUMMY. Here they make a hammour kibbeh that is fabulous – IF you manage to get there on the day they make it, IF you get there before it’s all sold out!

Leave a Reply

 
