A Diamond’s Eye View of the World

a multi-faceted look at the middle east, and the middle west

enabling the disabled

Posted by adiamondinsunlight on September 8, 2007

(Readers, be forewarned: this post has nothing to do with Lebanon, which – like most of the Middle East – makes no provisions for handicapped access to any space, public or private.)

The other day, while out shopping the September sales, my mother and I noticed that one of our favorite off-price shops had re-done its signage – including its “handicapped access” sign.

Most handicapped signs look like this:

handicapped.jpg

I had never given much thought to the message these signs might send until I saw the new sign:

active-handicap.jpg

What an empowering sign this is. The old one shows a passive wheelchair rider, being pushed or relying on an electric chair to move around. The new sign shows a wheelchair user – or maybe even a wheelchairer, in the way that a person on a bike becomes a biker. Not only is he/she pushing themselves, but you can see the motion thanks to the curved lines.

My uncle was in a wheelchair for thirty years. I love this sign.

7 Responses to “enabling the disabled”

  1. Touche' said

    Amazing sign

    Really creative, thoughtful and innovative.

  2. intlxpatr said

    I love your sweet, insightful little heart, and your eyes that SEE.

  3. sporty diamond said

    What a great sign – thanks for noticing it and sharing it. I’m really, really glad you spotted it :) I love it, too!

  4. Maria said

    I agree with the other commenters… it was very insightful of you to notice that and think about the new sign’s meaning.

  5. thank you, all! the sign really struck me – I hope its the start of a trend in handicapped sign design!

  6. [...] As I’ve mentioned before, one of my uncles spent most of his adult life in a wheelchair. I have a great appreciation for all efforts made to integrate disabled people into the mainstream. Welcoming people with physical limitations does bring many rewards, but it also has costs – literal ones, like building ramps and elevators, and figurative ones, like dealing with “why bother?” and other negative attitudes. [...]

  7. Macht der Symbole

    Behinderte, auch Rollstuhlfahrer, gehören zu den Menschen, die sich immer wieder mit den Unzulänglichkeiten öffentlicher Architektur herumschlagen müssen. Zwar ist das “behindertengerechte” Bauen bei staatlichen Bauten besser geworden,…

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

