A Diamond’s Eye View of the World

a multi-faceted look at the middle east, and the middle west

there at our homing: the eve of the day

Posted by adiamondinsunlight on August 14, 2007

I love the early evening – I love the “day is done” feeling – and I love the early evening in Lebanon because the light is so wonderful. The late-day sun catches the warm yellows of the traditionally painted buildings and makes ordinary reality appear warmer, brighter, better than it does under the hard noon-day sun.

looking-east-saturated.jpg

(I increased the contrast 46% on this photograph, and decreased the brightness by 4%, but the color changes only heighten the mood, rather than altering it.)

Today the end-of-day feeling has an even sweeter flavor. Tomorrow is a holiday – Eid al-Saydet, the Feast of the Assumption, a Catholic holiday that celebrates Mary’s bodily assumption into heaven.

For me, Assumption is a particularly special holiday, as it brings back fond memories of a Sunday afternoon I spent with Owlfish, grading the final exams of Abu Owlfish’s Art History 101 students. A painting of the Assumption was among the IDs, which one good-humored if poorly prepared student identified as “Mary’s getting carted off to heaven”. I doubt the Maronites here would be as amused as we were.

3 Responses to “there at our homing: the eve of the day”

  1. Maria said

    Hee! You made me giggle at the memory of grading papa’s papers. How do you think those college students would have liked it had they known a couple of teenagers (or in my case perhaps even younger) were grading their papers! I remember he once gave me some extra credit papers to grade and instructed me to assign grades based strictly on grammar and spelling. Unfortunately, not too many of them got an A.

  2. intlxpatr said

    Love the music reference too, Little Diamond.🙂

    LMFAO at “Mary getting carted into heaven.” I’ll bet there have been some doozy’s over the years.

  3. abu owlfish said

    I had forgotten that I ever dragooned anyone but S & M into helping me. I won’t dispute M’s comment, but I don’t remember asking any of you to judge anything more complex than one-word answers.

    In any event, thanks for the memory. There were definitely wonderful delights in teaching.

Leave a Reply

 
