A Diamond’s Eye View of the World

a multi-faceted look at the middle east, and the middle west

la vie en moutarde: from Saifi to the Hariri mosque

Posted by adiamondinsunlight on August 11, 2007

My original title for this post was “la vie en jaune”. Then I decided that the color of this photograph was more accurately “orange”. For an instant I toyed with the title “la vie en jaune-orange”, but then I remembered local politics.

Downtown may still be filled with the tents of yellow and orange supporters, but I colored this photograph solely for aesthetic reasons. Since no Lebanese party has yet claimed “mustard” as its color, I feel fairly safe with this title. And the color reminds me of the day earlier this summer when “Libyan winds” brought so much red dust to Beirut that the sky was indeed stained a yellow-orange.

mosquee-jaune-blog.jpg

2 Responses to “la vie en moutarde: from Saifi to the Hariri mosque”

  1. Maria said

    This is gorgeous! Good job🙂

  2. intlxpatr said

    WOW, Little Diamond, gorgeous photo. Very . . . coral colored! Or salmon!

    I remember once in Tampa when the air turned bright green, just before a hurricane. It made the hair on the back of my neck stand up, it was such an unnatural color.

Leave a Reply

 
