A Diamond’s Eye View of the World

a multi-faceted look at the middle east, and the middle west

to see ourselves as others see us ii: peculiar politics

Posted by adiamondinsunlight on August 6, 2007

Just when Aoun’s and Gemayel’s posturing (not to mention pontificating) over the Metn by-elections were starting to make me feel smug about the comparatively sane nature of American politics, my friend R sent me a link to a story covering the Iowa visit of one of the GOP’s wackier presidential candidates: Colorado’s Tom Tancredo.

Tancredo says threat of attack on holy sites would deter terrorism
7/31/2007

By Chris Dorsey

OSCEOLA — Followers of radical Islam must be deterred from committing a nuclear attack on U.S. soil, Colorado Congressman Tom Tancredo said Tuesday morning, saying that as president he would take drastic measures to prevent such attacks.

“If it is up to me, we are going to explain that an attack on this homeland of that nature would be followed by an attack on the holy sites in Mecca and Medina,” the GOP presidential candidate said. “That is the only thing I can think of that might deter somebody from doing what they would otherwise do. If I am wrong fine, tell me, and I would be happy to do something else. But you had better find a deterrent or you will find an attack. There is no other way around it. There have to be negative consequences for the actions they take. That’s the most negative I can think of.”

The harsh approach is vital in order to prevent a worldwide collapse, Tancredo told nearly 30 people Tuesday morning at the Family Table restaurant. [story continues]

I’m just happy to see that Iowans continue to be their usual sane selves – a presidential candidate who can only draw 30 listeners will not be winning the caucuses, let alone the nomination.

Of course the truly distressing thing was that my father had earlier last week emailed me laughing about the fact that Tancredo’s staffers kept calling my parent’s house to invite me to another Tancredo-in-Iowa event. Horrors. I love my father and happily support his socially liberal, fiscally conservative, small-government GOP’ness – just as he happily supported my flying home on weekends during the 2004 elections to campaign for Kerry.

If the Tancredo team had been badgering my father about coming to their ice cream social, it would have made more sense. But calling repeatedly for my RSVP – despite my parents’ protestations that 1) I am in Beirut and 2) I am not a Republican – seems like a clear case of wasted energy.

Meanwhile my sister Sporty Diamond sent this gem of a campaign sign for a city council election in one of Seattle’s northern suburbs. Kudos to Mrs. Wacker for making lemonade out of what could be considered a very lemon-y last name.

wackerbacker.jpg

2 Responses to “to see ourselves as others see us ii: peculiar politics”

  1. […] more wordplay (”BeAWackerBacker”) and political posturing using inflammatory language: to see ourselves as others see us: peculiar politics. Also interesting is the blogger’s perception of a parallel between mideast and U.S. […]

  2. Steve said

    Will Wacker be a hard hitting political success? It is a little unfortunate that for some time in our house the fly-swat has been called the wacker. Sorry!

Leave a Reply

 
