A Diamond’s Eye View of the World

a multi-faceted look at the middle east, and the middle west

food fusion: when utensils go global

Posted by adiamondinsunlight on July 9, 2007

The shop where I buy prepared Lebanese mezze is not a ba2ala – its too fancy for that. In fact, it is so fancy that what it offers next to the mezze dishes are not plastic knives and forks, but … chopsticks.

Well trained in the arts of the New York deli as I am, I’ve looked and looked for the sushi-to-go that I expect to accompany them, but with little success. I did once see a package of something that might have been a distant cousin of the wonton, but the otherwise overwhelming lack of Asian food suggests that these chopsticks are Lebneni.

And they are fine chopsticks – none of the rub-them-back-and-forth-until-the-splinters wear-away low budget ones that my go-to spot at home (Saigon Grill) provides. These are the gourmet version:
chopsticks.jpg

I like to think of myself as a gourmet, and I am definitely global. So this past weekend I decided to take the plunge and try some Asian-style Lebanese mezze.

Some dishes (like fattouche) work better than others (like tabbouleh). And I must say: what I’ve lost in terms of efficiency I have more than recouped in fun. Eating with chopsticks is a total hoot.

One Response to “food fusion: when utensils go global”

  1. intlxpatr said

    What a great portion control technique – eating muttabel, hummos, tabbouleh, etc with chopsticks! No wonder you Beirutis can stay so thin!

Leave a Reply

 
