A Diamond’s Eye View of the World

a multi-faceted look at the middle east, and the middle west

the color orange

Posted by adiamondinsunlight on June 30, 2007

G returned from a business trip in London shortly before dawn, and called upon arriving home – ostensibly to let me know but I suspect more for the unparalleled pleasure of talking to me in deeply incoherent asleep mode. (My suspicions were aroused by the way in which G ended the call: I’ll let you go now, G said to me. You’re almost coherent, which means you’re waking up.)

I imagine that G is happily sleeping the day away, delighted to be back in a familiar bed. As for me, I am spending the day working on things academic (the impressive sounding “executive report” of a conference write-up) and non (laundry).

The “non” is actually quite fun, as I just made my bed with a new set of sheets, brought back from the states last week. Years ago, I used to scoff when K and P (who just learned about this blog – lek shtatilek, you there in far away Hong Kong!) would talk about high thread count sheets. Oh, no more. I am a convert, and I cannot wait to go to bed tonight.

The new sheets are orange, which conveniently enough makes them coordinate with both my bedspread and G’s politics. In honor of G’s return, I am posting this article, which I found the other day while idly flipping through a magazine as my pedicure finished:

color-orange.jpg


If you read it politically, the list of virtues for the color orange are hysterically funny, like:
“orange has a bit less intensity or aggression than red, calmed by the cheerfulness of yellow”.

(Well, the “red” doesn’t fit, but the idea of Hizbullah yellow as cheerfully calming is a hoot.)

Some of the color’s other listed virtues do fit what I think of as tayyari political culture:

“Orange is mentally stimulating as well as sociable. Use it to get people thinking or to get them talking.”

“Curiosity is a driving characteristic of orange, and with it comes exploration of new things.”

“Wearing orange … can bring about the willingness to embrace new ideas with enjoyment and a sense of exploration and creative play.”

I see all these characteristics reflected in the Aounists I know. As a party, I think the Free Political Movement is great – I just wish it had a more inspiring leader.

Leave a Reply

 
