A Diamond’s Eye View of the World

a multi-faceted look at the middle east, and the middle west

loving life in Lebanon

Posted by adiamondinsunlight on June 22, 2007

I understand that the Lebanese defense ministry has declared victory against Fatah al-Islam – which makes it a perfect time to return to Beirut, I think. Hence I am gathering my bags and hopping on a plane tomorrow afternoon.

Last week G sent me a visual Fatah al-Islam joke that I have been saving for the right moment – a moment that appears to have finally come.

The photo plays on the connection between the March 14 political coalition and the I love life campaign and the possible (probable?) patron/client relationship-gone-sour between the Hariri family and Fatah al-Islam.

To me it also shows the bankruptcy of this type of militancy. This group does not love life – or at least its leaders do not. Reports of group members surrendering have appeared here and there for the past two weeks. Perhaps facing a meaningless death forced those men to confront the emptiness of the true “culture of death”.

ill.jpg

4 Responses to “loving life in Lebanon”

  1. Rami said

    The coolest picture I have seen so far today!😛
    thanks for sharing

  2. intlxpatr said

    LD, that is PRICELESS!

  3. my pleasure Rami – though I wish I knew the creator, so I could credit him/her properly!

    khalti it is priceless, but I find myself torn: do I laugh, because the juxtaposition is so stark, or sober up, for the same reason?

  4. Rami said

    I am sorry, but the photo turned out to be photoshopped…
    If you zoom a little bit on their foreheads, you will notice how the “I heart life” was aligned…

    cheers!🙂

Leave a Reply

 
