A Diamond’s Eye View of the World

a multi-faceted look at the middle east, and the middle west

Intlxpatr’s Kinan Tag

Posted by adiamondinsunlight on June 21, 2007

Several years ago my aunt Intlxpatr gave me an amazing gift – a work of art that she created (she is an artist), which fortuitously turned out to contain an element titled “Travels With My Aunt”. We all hooted with laughter when we realized what a serendipitous coincidence this was. This week, the theme seems to be more “tags with my aunt” :-), thanks in turn to Kinan, who started it all with the very apt you gotta love tags.

1. Last movie you saw in a theater?
mmm. the last Halle Berry movie – she’s a reporter tracking down her friend’s killer – which clearly wasn’t that memorable. I saw it at the ABC cinema over Easter weekend.

2. What book are you reading?
The Myrtle Tree, by Jad El-Hage

3. Favorite board game?
I’m not a “game girl” 🙂 but I don’t mind a Hearts tournament now and then!

4.Favorite magazine?
Vogue

5. Favorite smell?
sandalwood oil

6. Favorite food?
Indian, with Vietnamese and American Mexican close behind

7. Favorite sound?
call to prayer: Morocco (the most beautiful) or Syria (the style most familiar to me)

8. Worst feeling in the world?
the leaden stomach feel of having done the wrong thing

9. What is the first thing you think of when you wake up?
tea, followed shortly by 1) breakfast 2) email 3) gym

10. Favorite fast food place?
Chipotle – yum, yum, yum

11. Future child’s name?
I think names shouldn’t be chosen definitively until children are born. Otherwise you fit them into the character slot of the name, rather than the other way around.

12. Finish this statement. If I had a lot of money:
I’d borrow the micro-credit concept – private enterprise fosters personal dignity as well as personal independence.

13. Do you drive fast?
Hah – I like to describe my driving style as “little old lady”. I drive slowly and erratically, thanks to an unshakeable daydreaming habit. I am not a fast driver, but nor am I a good one.

14. Do you sleep with a stuffed animal?
not exactly. I sleep on my side, nestling into and with an arm thrown around my extra pillow.

15. Storms cool or scary?
Very, very cool.

16. What was your first car?
A black Geo tracker with a custom paint job on the hood, known in my family as the Sharpei (“like the dog, little diamond – the car is so ugly that its cute!”). and yes, true to its reputation it did go on two wheels while off-roading. I was a much better driver in high school, I swear :-D.

17. Favorite drink?
Kahlua & milk, ice-cold.

18. Finish this statement, “If I had the time I would…”:
“Had we but world enough and time” – I constantly hear time’s chariot, reminding me how little time we all have.

19. Do you eat the stems on broccoli?
of course – I am a broccoli girl :-).

20. If you could dye your hair any color, what would be your choice?
I agree with my aunt: red, red, red. I would love to have my grandmother’s hair :-). Or Owlfish’s!
21. Name all the different cities/ towns you have lived in?
Northbrook, Clive, Williamstown, Danville, New York, Fes, Damascus, Paris, Waukee, Beirut

22. Half empty or half full?
very full

23. Favorite sports to watch?
*dying laughing* oh yes I’m a massive sports fan 😛

25. Morning person, or night owl?
morning – early morning. I love the stillness of the morning, and I love seeing the city as it wakes.

26. Over easy, or sunny side-up?
mmm I don’t know the difference. Soft-boiled?

27. Favorite place to relax?
sprawled on my stomach, lying diagonally across my bed with a book

28. Favorite pie?
Key Lime, just like Aunt Sparkle 🙂

One Response to “Intlxpatr’s Kinan Tag”

  1. broccoli girl..I am falling off my chair laughing, crying. And hey, don’t you occasionally go for a rousing set of “Liar’s Dice.” in addition to Hearts? The micro-credit phenomena is spreading – there are some amazing programs now that you can participate in for very little “investment”. Did you know that Muhammad Yunus won the 2006 Nobel Peace Prize for this? Very cool.

Leave a Reply

 
