A Diamond’s Eye View of the World

a multi-faceted look at the middle east, and the middle west

turning Lebanese

Posted by adiamondinsunlight on May 25, 2007

What felt like crisis on Monday now feels normal, so quickly do we humans adapt. Well, easy for me to say – anyone with a car here probably feels the changes much more acutely, as they scramble for parking in neighborhoods where street parking is now prohibited, or wait in long lines at an ever-changing array of roadblocks in and out of the city.

The joke I found waiting for me in my inbox this morning said: Fatah al-Islam threatens to become Christian if the Lebanese army does not withdraw from the border of Nahr al-Bared.

This afternoon, G passed on the AFP report that al-Qaeda is threatening to target Christians in Lebanon unless the army withdraws from the camp. Even while I shudder at the thought of al-Qaeda establishing a more active presence here, something about the mis-communication apparent in these two communiques makes me laugh.

Meanwhile, on to more superficial topics like … fashion.

My aunt sometimes tells me: Little Diamond, you are turning Lebanese.

However, when I opened the box of clothing that my parents had sent from Salzburg, I realized that she was targeting the wrong family member. It is my mother who has become Lebanese.

I grew up with fairly staid swimming suits – conservatively cut or racer style, in the red-white-and-blue colors favored by our all-American country club. Even when I graduated to bikinis, they were … not so bikini. I like to swim, not to preen, and I definitely don’t like having to ask myself: if I do this somersault / turn / handstand, will my suit follow me?

Moreover, my idea of a really eye-catching bikini color is … black. or … navy. sometimes, when I feel particularly daring, I put on one that is navy and … white.

My swimsuit fashion sense is hence a bit plain for Lebanon, although I have happily adopted the bikini-with-heels beach club fashion that here is de rigueur. I believe that heels go with everything :-).

Back to the box of clothing. When it finally arrived I tore through the packing tape and spent half an hour trying on the treasures it contained – tops in various styles and various shades of black, brown and white, my “colors”.

When I dug down towards the bottom, I found a much more colorful treasure – and one that appeared much more likely to have come from a shop in Beirut than from one in Des Moines:

lebanese-swimsuit.jpg

Yes – the top is made of a shiny turquoise fabric. And yes – that is a sequined flower on the left … er … side. Thank goodness I have heels that match!

4 Responses to “turning Lebanese”

  1. SparklePlenty said

    Whooo hoo – fabu bikini! You better have killer matching heels for that number. And maybe some double-sided sticky tape. What a great “care package” from Big Diamond & Co. – good to see she’s stretching those color boundaries (you’re a chip off the ‘ol rock, you are)! Were your E-Bay white jeans in there, too?

  2. intlxpatr said

    Little Diamond, you can wear that (with the heels) when you come to Kuwait! I think you need some JOOOOOLLLS to go with it, then you can be Twinkle Plenty!

  3. […] oneself for this beach requires something more: a style-y bikini (which I own), designer sunglasses, a car to be valet’ed, and appropriate […]

  4. […] dated but fascinating LF forum debate is still accurate. I probably won’t be going there in my bikini anytime soon, but I like knowing about this other side of […]

Leave a Reply

 
