A Diamond’s Eye View of the World

a multi-faceted look at the middle east, and the middle west

Creepie-crawlies in Hamra

Posted by adiamondinsunlight on May 4, 2007

Today appears to be “gross bug” day in greater Hamra, thanks perhaps to the strange khamsin-with-humidity weather that we’ve had for the past few days.

A nasty long-bellied black crawler greeted me in my salon when I woke this morning. This bug was the stuff of science fiction movies – massive pincers framing its face, long shiny body. Ugh. Blown to life size, it would be terrifying.

As it was, it was merely creepy, in a unique, deeply unsettling way – so much so that I considered reaching for my camera, to document its frightening physique for any interested B-movie-makers.

But I decided my post-photo plans for the bug would violate the spirit if not the letter of the US laws prohibiting snuff films. So instead of taking a photograph, I took out my “kills all insects” spray can and left the bug to endure a rather awful writhing death while I went off to make tea.

As it turned out, the dying bug did have an audience – a giant-sized cockroach, which I noticed on my return from the kitchen.

I hate roaches. I know they are common in urban spaces, blah, blah, and having one in your house doesn’t necessarily mean that you are a dirty human being who lives in filthy squalor and has no sense of personal hygiene, but … seeing one in my apartment does raise a lot of anxieties.

Luckily, I have as many hard-soled heels as I do anxieties, and the roach soon joined his movie-star brother in bug heaven.

Having deposited garbage bags bearing their bodies by the concierge’s room on my way out (she’ll give them a ‘proper’ burial in the neighborhood bin), I left for the gym. As I walked past the university, a softly whirring thing flew down from a nearby tree and perched itself on my shoulder.

I looked at it. Ew. Ick. Double Ick. If there is any bug I hate more than a cockroach, it is a flying cockroach. What kind of bad insect karma had I brought upon myself?, I wondered as I quickly brushed it away.

Away, but not far enough away. When I looked down at my gym back, it looked back up at me, almost as if it were a … pet. Ugh. No pet bugs for me, thank you. I brushed it off with my handbag and continued on.

When I reached the gym, I noticed a new spa treatment being advertised in the elevator:

The New You Sliming Treatment

it said.

Enjoy a slimed down new you.

Mmm. Thank you, but I feel quite sufficiently slimed already.

2 Responses to “Creepie-crawlies in Hamra”

  1. intlxpatr said

    i want a photo of the slimed down you sign! And the creepy crawlies give me the heebie jeebies, too.

  2. SparklePlenty said

    Hmmm. I’ve tried to comment twice and seem to be having technical difficulties. Once more into the breech….
    Just letting you know I thought hard of you last weekend, as I was weeding and steeling myself against the icky creepy crawlies that live in the soil, under rocks, etc. I was in long pants, long sleeves, glasses, hair slicked back, ready for battle. Many cc’s joined your B-movie bug, courtesy of my garden tools. Take no prisoners!

Leave a Reply

 
