A Diamond’s Eye View of the World

a multi-faceted look at the middle east, and the middle west

Speaking Arabic like … a native

Posted by adiamondinsunlight on April 13, 2007

I spend my days in a large open group workspace in which I am the only non-Lebanese.

Since I spend much of my non-working time with friends of various nationalities who speak Arabic only as a second language, I sometimes forget which group is which.

The other afternoon, I was mesmerized by the phone conversation taking place at a desk near mine. It was so … smooth … so flowing … so natural.

Wow, I thought to myself. His Arabic is really good.

Of course, I told myself, shaking off my surprise. He’s Lebanese.

2 Responses to “Speaking Arabic like … a native”

  1. intlxpatr said

    I love it. dying laughing, Little Diamond.

    And you! You are sounding more and more Lebanese!

  2. “oh come on” ya khalti 😛 I sound just as american as always :-D.

Leave a Reply

 
