A Diamond’s Eye View of the World

a multi-faceted look at the middle east, and the middle west

greetings from forbidden lands

Posted by adiamondinsunlight on April 12, 2007

Yesterday afternoon I opened my inbox to find a message with a subject line not often seen here:

Hello from Haifa!

Goodbye from Beirut, I thought, and hurriedly closed my inbox.

The email turned out to be a perfectly innocuous request for information on a prominent Palestinian family who lived in Haifa during the early 1900s, written by a Christian Arab Israeli who had heard from a mutual friend that I knew the family’s Australian branch.

I’m not sure what I’ll put in the subject line of my reply, although

Bonjour from Beirut – how was your summer? comes to mind.

Leave a Reply

 
