A Diamond’s Eye View of the World

a multi-faceted look at the middle east, and the middle west

Running afoul of the morality police: Internet filtering in Dubai

Posted by adiamondinsunlight on March 28, 2007

This afternoon I typed in the url of a well-known Lebanese vineyard – a vineyard whose vintages were available by the bottle at the bar/resto where I dined with my friend S last night.

Instead of the vineyard’s homepage, this forbidding image popped up:

 

noaccess1.jpg

What a gruesome – and very clear – image. I’d been caught, high-tech style, red-handed.

Mortified, and blushing not a little bit, I quickly tabbed away to another page. Having so enjoyed myself in Dubai thus far I certainly didn’t want to be accused of lowering the emirate’s morals.

Leave a Reply

 
