A Diamond’s Eye View of the World

a multi-faceted look at the middle east, and the middle west

speaking as an American

Posted by adiamondinsunlight on February 26, 2007

I traced Intlxpatr‘s book meme back to her source: the Pearl Lady, whose “about” page includes a delightful little quiz:

What American accent do you have?

Unsurprisingly, I have what the quiz terms a “Midland” accent. We call it a “midwestern accent” in my part of the country – the Midlands are for Britain🙂.

On an unrelated note, I am pasting in a photograph I took Saturday morning of the latest of Lebanon’s many billboards. This one is also red, but apparently neither the “I love life” (government) red nor the “I love life in colors” (opposition) red.

Conveniently for my photograph, it is the red of the house behind it and the “no stopping” sign in the foreground.

abd-al-aziz-st.JPG

The billboard is printed in English, not Arabic, and says:

111 for 11

What do the Lebanese really want?

9 Responses to “speaking as an American”

  1. Med said

    According to the accent quiz, outsiders probably mistake me for a Canadian a lot.

  2. Wow Med – that is amazing. I wonder why :-)?

  3. It identified me as having an Inland North accent.

    From the picture, it seems you’ve been spending a lot of time at De Prague recently.

    I’ve always known that I’m nocturnal, but when viewing my photographs this trait becomes dramatically apparent. The light is bad in all of them. That’s because there’s no natural light.

  4. goodness, Charles. I can’t wait to hear you speak – you sound totally normal to me :-)!

    as for de Prague, I just walk past it. YOU are the champion zubun there🙂.

  5. intlxpatr said

    Dying laughing. . . it’s PEAR Lady! I think of her as Pearl Lady, too, but when I saw it in writing, i just burst out laughing! Couldn’t find the quiz, but oh well, pretty sure it is some kind of PNW accent . . .

  6. kblogid said

    The 111 for 11 billboard is a commercial for a new offer from a cable tv company…111 channels for $11…

    http://ilebanon.wordpress.com

  7. oh, ya khalti – you are joking! oh, I am so embarrassed! but pearl lady is so perfect for the gulf!

    and Karim – I wish you were joking as well! What a sad view of Lebanon this company has, to think that the Lebanese only want to dull themselves with cheap television. pfft pfft. thank you for letting me know what fool’s gold my camera found!

  8. intlxpatr said

    “You definitely have a Boston accent, even if you think you don’t. Of course, that doesn’t mean you are from the Boston area, you may also be from New Hampshire or Maine.”

    I don’t just think I don’t have a Boston accent, I KNOW I don’t! And I’m not from New Hampshire! Or Maine!

  9. LOL @ the accidental typo…no biggie – at least you’re thinking of me [fondly].😀
    As for the quiz, I suppose Midland means we’re in the middle of it all, and that’s not a bad place to be.

Leave a Reply

 
