A Diamond’s Eye View of the World

a multi-faceted look at the middle east, and the middle west

books around the world, one flight at a time (iv)

Posted by adiamondinsunlight on February 23, 2007

Serendipity enters one’s life when one least expects it.

Yesterday I took advantage of a long layover at Heathrow to wander slowly through Borders’ aisles. Many books called my name, but only one found its way into my carry-on bag: Tahir Shah’s The Caliph’s House.

ch_us_large.jpg

In the tradition of A Year in Provence and other similar books, The Caliph’s House tells of Shah’s experience relocating to Morocco, buying an old riad in Casablanca, and restoring it – or at least restoring it to inhabitability.

I began reading with the assumption that Shah was a British subject of Indian (Muslim) heritage, based largely on his name (Tahir means “pure” in Arabic) and his wife’s (Rachana, an Indian Hindu name and one, incidentally, shared by one of my favorite college professors.

Soon, however, Shah disclosed that he was Afghani British, not Indian. Hmm, I thought.

He mentioned his father’s regret at having raised his children in a quiet English town rather than in the Hindu Kush, where he had spent his own childhood. Interesting, I thought. Sounds a bit familiar.

Finally, he noted that Morocco held particular fascination for him because his father’s father had moved their after the death of his wife, a Scottish aristocrat known as Bobo. Ahaaaa, I thought. I know who you are!

Tahir Shah is the brother of Saira Shah, whose book The Storyteller’s Daughter started my books around the world posts.

The book was good on its own – a well crafted read and a thoughtful narrative made all the more interesting by the fact that Shah was neither a total newcomer to Morocco nor a complete outsider (he might not be Arab, or Berber, but as a Muslim and a sayyid he is certainly within the community of the faithful).

My reading of The Caliph’s House drew extra richness from all I had learned about the Shahs’ family from The Storyteller’s Daughter. I love literary families – the way individual family members’ memories resonate with one another’s, even when they do not agree. (For example, I think no one should read Edward Said’s Out of Place without also reading his sister Jean Said Makdisi’s Mother, Teta, and Me.)

I read The Caliph’s House all in one gulp, bookended by two venti Starbucks teas, as my layover flew by.

4 Responses to “books around the world, one flight at a time (iv)”

  1. intlxpatr said

    Bring that one to Kuwait! I want to read it! I think I have two books piled up for you already, one is Snake Hips that I will return to you.

  2. intlxpatr said

    i think something is screwy on the formatting of the right side of this blog-template. I can see other categories underneath the top layer.

  3. I will bring it for you :-). I’m so glad that you liked _Even After All This Time_ as well – what a brilliant book that was.

    As for the formatting, i don’t know what has gone wrong. I can’t see the problem you describe for myself – maybe it was just a missed page load?

  4. Kev Moore said

    I had a similar experience whilst wondering how to kill time in the passenger hell that is Gatwick Airport. I had plenty of unread books, though unfortunately none of them with me! I chanced upon a book called “The Time Traveller’s Wife” which I promptly devoured as quickly as my (several) lattes. Having discussed it since with my partner, who attempted to read it and gave up, I think we agreed to differ. I loved the book for its plot idea, which is wonderful, its a sci-fi/love story, where the man meets his future wife initially as a child, becuase he’s genetically compelled to time travel. Its premise could have explored so many themes, but where the book falls down (in my partners opinion, and I reluctantly agreed) is that the characterisations are simply too shallow. You don’t feel enough for them, and that is a shame, because the story itself is a wonderful idea.

Leave a Reply

 
