A Diamond’s Eye View of the World

a multi-faceted look at the middle east, and the middle west

Q8 in the Lone Star State

Posted by adiamondinsunlight on February 17, 2007

As soon as I tell people here what I do, and where I live, the stories come out:

… my child’s friend at school is a Haddad.

… the best restaurant in town is owned by two Kuwaitis.

… my landlord is Lebanese, but really Syrian, from Mexico.

… our neighbors are originally Lebanese: the Azzars, the Abbouds, the Salims.

And this morning I found the Q8 Cafe – very near my hotel! I love the idea that Texans come here to drink nargilehs while surfing the web :-).

q8-cafe.JPG

7 Responses to “Q8 in the Lone Star State”

  1. Intlxpatr said

    I love it!

  2. […] Cafe in Texas Little Diamond, leaving El Paso, TX, posts a photo of the Q8 Cafe in El […]

  3. jewaira said

    So the Haddads, the Azzar’s and the Abbouds all went to Texas? 🙂

    Thanks for sharing the info

  4. skunk said

    ” my landlord is Lebanese, but really Syrian, from Mexico.”

    hahaha!

    i’m glad that i’ve found someone with a life just as complicated as mine 😀

  5. Ya Khalti I knew I had you to thank for the sudden jump in Kuwaiti traffic to my blog 🙂 – thank you!

    Dear Jewaira, *laughing* yes, they are all there. shall I tell them that you send your regards?

    Honestly, this is the first time that I have ever been in a place where so many non-Arab residents (Anglo & Hispanic) recognize “Arab” names. I’ve been in situations where Arab-American friends have pointed out Americanized Arab names (Corrie for Khoury, for example), and where people have stated _generally_ that “we have a lot of Lebanese/Syrian/Palestinian/etc. Americans in our community”. But this listing of specific names is totally new to me.

    dear Skunk, the position I interviewed for is an academic assistant professorship with the very wide mandate of “Asia or Middle East”. So perhaps the “Asia” candidates have experienced the same thing, but with Chinese/Japanese standing in for Syrian/Lebanese :-). I know that there is also a long-standing Chinese, at least, population in the area.

    Thanks to you both (and to all the other Intlxpatr friends!) for visiting!

  6. intlxpatr said

    Wooo Hooo, Little Diamond, I had 58 hits going to look at your post alone! If I couldn’t post the photo myself, sending them to you was the next best thing. 🙂

  7. ya khalti something about the wordpress stats is a mystery to me. I have 45 coming from your site – maybe our clocks are set to different times (mine is on Beirut time, GMT +2), which could make our days begin/end at different times?

Leave a Reply

 
