A Diamond’s Eye View of the World

a multi-faceted look at the middle east, and the middle west

a Lone Star on the border: from the Middle East to the Southwest

Posted by adiamondinsunlight on February 16, 2007

I am currently in … Texas, which surprises me as much as it might surprise you. I have never been here before, and it is as far away from the midwest as it is from the Middle East.

And as close. I look at the mountains and the scrub brush that covers them, and I see the mountains that ring Fes, Morocco.

More surprisingly, I have met several people who tell me that there is a large Kuwaiti population here. They rave about a coffeeshop called the Q8 Cafe. If I have time, I will stop there before I leave and take a photograph.

In the meantime, here are some photos – of the university, whose architecture is designed in the style of traditional Bhutanese monasteries, of all things, and of the town and its Mexican sister city, which together stretch out between the mountains.

p1020131.JPG

 

p1020133.JPG

 

p1020143.JPG

2 Responses to “a Lone Star on the border: from the Middle East to the Southwest”

  1. Excelletn shots and nice photos! Thanks for sharing!

  2. Dear Suresh,

    thank you for visiting – and for your very kind words :-)!

Leave a Reply

 
