A Diamond’s Eye View of the World

a multi-faceted look at the middle east, and the middle west

difficult palindromes: man, a plan, … Amman?

Posted by adiamondinsunlight on February 10, 2007

I am in Jordan for the weekend – the Lebanese weekend (Saturday- Sunday), which overlaps only partially with the Jordanian (Friday-Saturday).

Naturally, I forgot to pack my camera, but even since my last visit (in July 2006 – I returned home to Beirut just in time to unpack and settle in before the war began) I can see changes in Amman – and not just the number of Iraqi license plates. The neighborhoods past seventh circle are now almost as thickly settled as the heart of the city – and the westward growth continues.

In lieu of current photos, I am posting a few from a delightful trip down to Wadi Rum that I took with my friend M, her friend S, and his brother S in June 2005. Yes, Wadi Rum in June. It was beyond hot, but still beautiful.

wadi-rum-bridge-ii.JPG

The famous “bridge” of Wadi Rum, photographed by me and twenty million other tourists.

wadi-rum-camel.JPG

Sociable camel passing by to say saba7h alkheir and “you are welcome in Jordan”.

wadi-rum-camels.JPG

a classically ‘touristic’ scene

wadi-rum-ii.JPG

even at 8 am, the temperature was high enough to produce this heat haze …

wadi-rum-run-vii.JPG

… which strangely enough did nothing to deter S & S (a doctor and civil engineer, respectively) from racing one another up this hill and then sliding down it, despite the burning sands.

Men really are from Mars – even when they are from Canada.

5 Responses to “difficult palindromes: man, a plan, … Amman?”

  1. abu owlfish said

    I love the photos, which I’m assuming were done with a panoramic camera held vertically rather than pasted or viewed with a program which shows only the central vertical section of the image. In any event, I really like them as they are. Good work!

  2. Abu Owlfish, I wish I could claim that kind of photographic expertise, but … no! these are standard 3×4 photographs. It could very well be that my camera can take panoramic photos – its a very smart little device – but with me its only uses are for taking the standard tourist photos and images of archival documents.

  3. abu owlfish said

    Ah – all I need to do is to stretch the window sideways and I get a normally proportioned tourist scene. I do like them as you shot them, but I was kinda fond of them as they first appeared on my machine, especially the second, which had only the rump of a departing camel in an extremely narrow field.

  4. Elijah said

    OMG That is my country and I haven’t been there YET!! The pics are beautiful. My sis is going there next week, will ask her if I can post some of her pics when she gets back.

    I loved them so much I wanna keep writing lol. 🙂

  5. Dear Abu Owlfish,

    Again – I only wish I were that creative! what a witty photograph that would have been!

    dear Elijah,

    Welcome and thank you for stopping by my site (and thanks to Intlxpatr for sending so many of her Kuwaiti friends here :-)!). Jordan is one of my favorite countries in the region – not only for the beautiful sites, but also for the people. I remember Jordan as the one place where people would compliment my Arabic even when my accent and tiny vocabulary made me almost incomprehensible. Gracious people; stunning natural and historical treasures. You are lucky to be Jordanian :-)!

Leave a Reply

 
