A Diamond’s Eye View of the World

a multi-faceted look at the middle east, and the middle west

finding one’s way (ii): a map of Amman

Posted by adiamondinsunlight on January 30, 2007

My blog seems to have become a way station for lost souls around the region. Today’s search results referrals (Amman + city + map) are less specific than the ones last week for Damascus.

The city of Amman itself has a clickable map online, although it has fewer landmarks than the Damascus map: http://www.amman.com/map.htm. As with most cities here, cabdrivers tend to know areas, not street names. Try to find the circle nearest your destination, and orient yourself from there.

I downloaded this map last summer, before a conference. Unfortunately, I cannot remember my source, so am posting it with apologies to the author:

amman.gif

Amman is an under-rated city, full of hidden charms. If you are looking to ‘find your way’ in a more metaphorical sense, please let me know. I’m happy to suggest restaurants, hammams, etc. to while away the time there.

5 Responses to “finding one’s way (ii): a map of Amman”

  1. intlxpatr said

    My old villa, at Duwar Rabia, isn’t even on your map! And Wadi Seer was WAAAYY out in the country – we would go there for picnics. It was peaceful. I’ve heard I would not recognize Amman, and your map helps me see how true that is.

  2. Amman has grown and grown even in the five years since my first visit. The sheep-filled hinterlands in which my friends lived are now filled with villas and business parks. Part of it is the Iraqi influx – and part is the city’s own growth.

    As for me, I can’t wait to see the new bridge!

  3. Frederic said

    Hi,

    I plan on visiting Amman in November. I speak Arabic. Can you suggest a cheap but nice hotel downtown?
    Thank you,

    Frederic

  4. Frederic, how wonderful that you are off to Amman – and November is a great time to go. I’m afraid that I don’t know any of the downtown hotels – I usually stay with friends when I visit the city. You might try some of the online travelers’ forums – they can give you some of the most up-to-date information.

  5. AR said

    Hi their,

    usually I go to Amman for short business trips (24hrs). as I don’t have friends there. I’m going next week & I wish someone could help me exploring the city as I think there is much to look for.

Leave a Reply

 
